Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

It’s a rare day when Bikenut actually asks for sweets, so when he said, “How about some rainy day cookies?” I jumped on the chance!  I made two different batches of oatmeal cookies;  For Bikenut, I made blueberry oatmeal cookies, and for myself, I made these.

If you’ve ever had Mexican hot chocolate, these are very reminiscent of that — the richness of the chocolate with a bit of spice from the cinnamon and clove.   I figured that I would enjoy these, but I didn’t realize just how much!  The oatmeal gives these cookies something to sink your teeth into and chew on for a bit, so they go a long way.  I’m usually a 2-3 cookie gal, but just one of these satisfied my after-dinner sweet tooth.

By the way, if you’re interested in the blueberry version I made for Bikenut, just make it a level 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and instead of the chocolate chips, add dried and sweetened wild blueberries.  (If he liked white chocolate, I would have added white chocolate chips to his batch.)  I’m so sated from my one cookie that I can’t bring myself to try the blueberry version, but Bikenut gobbled his up and said they were pretty darn good, so I think I did okay!

Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup of softened butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 heaping teaspoon cinnamon
  • Dash of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1-3/4 cups flour
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 16 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter with hand mixer until creamed and fluffy.  (About 30 seconds)
  3. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cloves, cinnamon, and salt.  Beat until well mixed.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla, beat until well mixed.
  5. Blend in flour 1/2 cup at a time to mixture, using mixer or spoon.
  6. Stir in oats and chocolate chips.
  7. Drop Tablespoon-sized balls of dough onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet, then bake for 12-15 minutes, or until cookies are golden brown.
  8. Cool cookies on a wire rack.
One response to this post.

  1. Nom nom nom! Wish I had some. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

