Spinach & Bacon Pinwheels

Looking at food blogs is a problem for me.  I always find these amazing photos of amazing dishes with simple enough or delectable enough recipes that I just HAVE to try them.  Today wasn’t one of those days.  It is true that the food blogs inspired me to rummage through my kitchen, but there was not a particular recipe that had really struck me as something I HAD to make immediately.

Instead, I opted to get rid of the frozen puff pastry dough, whose box was an odd length compared to everything else in the freezer, and always just seemed to be in the way.  I also had to use up the rest of my frozen spinach before it succumbed to freezer burn.  And what do you know, I happened to have some bacon on hand, along with some swiss cheese!  I thought I’d put some of my favorite flavors together in a yummy pastry snack!

Bikenut is not a fan of cooked spinach.  He likes it raw, preferably in salad with some candied nuts, dried cranberries, and a vinaigrette.  This being the case, I wasn’t sure if he was going to try these or not.   Turns out that he did try one and he actually liked it!  He said that they were rich and filling, so he could only eat the one, but he definitely enjoyed it.  Color me shocked!

As I was just throwing this together on a whim and not following any recipe, the amounts here are approximate, so use your best judgment, or your best taste bud. 😀

Spinach & Bacon Pinwheels

Ingredients:

  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry dough, thawed per package instructions
  • 8 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed
  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 4 slices of cooked bacon, chopped
  • 4 slices of swiss cheese
  • Garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper to taste
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • (If I had any at the time, I would have added a bit of thinly sliced or finely diced onion, and thinly sliced mushrooms)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.  Unfold puff pastry dough onto parchment-lined baking sheet.
  2. Squeeze all moisture out of spinach, then combine spinach and cream cheese in a mixing bowl.
  3. Add all spices to mixing bowl and stir until well-blended.
  4. Spread mixture evenly over puff pastry dough.  Sprinkle bacon over spinach mixture.
  5. Tear slices of Swiss cheese into pieces and arrange over the top of the pastry.  This will make it easier to roll than leaving in slices.
  6. Roll dough into a log, then slice lengthwise, into about 1″ segments.  Place cut side down on the parchment-lined baking sheet.
  7. Brush pastry dough with egg wash or melted butter, and bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.
  8. Serve warm or at room temperature.
Leave a Reply

